Too hilarious to not cite

I have found this very nice piece of humor about Higgs particle at Cosmic Variance (see here). This text is a combination of quotes from famous movies. E.g., the last paragraph is taken from Ocean’s eleven and runs like this:

Terry: All right. Now I have complied with your every request, would you agree?
Rusty: I would.
Terry: Good, ’cause now I have one of my own. Run and hide, asshole. Run and hide. If you should be picked up next week buying a hundred-thousand dollar sports car in Newport Beach, I am going to be supremely disappointed. Because I want my people to find you, and when they do, rest assured we are not going to hand you over to the police. So my advice to you again is this: run and hide. That is all that I ask.

The first paragraph is taken from The Matrix and runs like this:

Neo: I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid… you’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change. I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin. I’m going to hang up this phone, and then I’m going to show these people what you don’t want them to see. I’m going to show them a world without you. A world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.

Nobody at Cosmic Variance was able to hit the citation for the second paragraph. It is very well accustomed to LHC situation so not that easy to identify. If you know it please, share your knowledge.

Movie quotes are from Internet Movie DB.

6 Responses to Too hilarious to not cite

  1. Rafael says:

    Hi Marco! Yes, it is really funny!! =)
    But, funniest would be if they had cited: “entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem” (Occam).
    After all, it was spent 10 G€ and there will be no Higgs, no extra-dimension, no super-stuff…
    http://xxx.lanl.gov/abs/hep-th/9605217
    Cheers,

    Rafael.

  2. Kea says:

    Abtruse Goose is just brilliant; clearly much more brilliant than many of its readers, such as those at CV.

  3. mfrasca says:

    Hi Rafael,

    Nice! But stay tuned as surprises are behind corner often some physicists may be wrong.

    Kea,

    have you anything with CV readers?

    Marco

  4. Kea says:

    No, not with CV readers, but with CV bloggers, who read Abtruse Goose. Sorry for not being clear.

  5. mfrasca says:

    Kea,

    no problem at all.

    Marco

  6. […] Cosmic Variance and The Gauge Connection has puzzled over This Abtruse Goose webcomic. It is believed the first paragraph refers to The […]

Leave a Reply

