Breaking of a symmetry: A paper

ResearchBlogging.org

I have uploaded a paper on arXiv (see here), following my preceding post,  where I show that supersymmetry has inside itself the seeds for the breaking. I consider a Wess-Zumino model without masses (chiral) and I prove that, at lower momenta, it boils down to a Nambu-Jona-Lasinio model so, breaking supersymmetry through a gap equation that has a solution beyond a critical coupling. An essential assumption is that the coupling in the model is not increasingly smaller but rather increasingly greater. So, bosons and fermions get different masses.

This should open up a new way to see at supersymmetric theories that produce by themselves nonlinearities: It is enough to have such nonlinearities growing bigger. In this way, the large number of parameters that seems a need in the Minimal Supersymmetric Standard Model, arising from the introduction by hand of breaking terms, hopefully should reduce significantly.

Finally, I would like to point out a paper by Jamil Hetzel giving a nice introduction to these problematics (see here). This is a master thesis whose content appeared on JHEP.

Marco Frasca (2012). Chiral Wess-Zumino model and breaking of supersymmetry arXiv arXiv: 1211.1039v1

Jamil Hetzel (2012). Probing the supersymmetry breaking mechanism using renormalisation group
invariants arXiv arXiv: 1211.1157v1

4 Responses to Breaking of a symmetry: A paper

  1. mitchellporter says:

    A similar claim has been made by some Chinese authors, for example here. I see one critical response.

    • mfrasca says:

      Dear mitchellporter,

      Thanks for pointing me out this. It is not the same claim. I do not work at small coupling and I have no effective potential. I am in the large coupling limit and I use rather recent results on boson-fermion models arisen in QCD. This gives a trivial infrared fixed point that is stable when you move away from it.

      Marco

  2. mitchellporter says:

    Hi Marco, I just mailed the address in your paper and the email bounced immediately.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.